British Columbians need answers on vaccines from Erin O’Toole & the Conservatives

British Columbians need answers on vaccines from Erin O’Toole & the Conservatives


Statement from Jonathan Wilkinson, Liberal candidate for North Vancouver:

Vancouver, British Columbia: Medical and public health experts are clear: vaccination is the most effective way for us to get back to normal from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Today, Erin O’Toole refused to answer ten times when asked how many of his candidates are vaccinated. This follows media reports that 85% of O’Toole’s Conservative own candidates won’t say if they are vaccinated (Globe and Mail, 17 September 2021). His candidates even admitted they had been told not to respond to media questions about vaccination status.

Since the very beginning of the pandemic, British Columbians followed the advice of public health experts and have done their part to flatten the curve. In every corner of beautiful British Columbia, people have been getting vaccinated. As of today, almost 71% of all British Columbians and 80% of those British Columbians twelve and over have been fully vaccinated.

With two days until the election, British Columbians have an important choice. They need to know where party leaders stand on their plans to end the COVID-19 pandemic.

Justin Trudeau and the Liberal Party have made clear that all of our candidates must be vaccinated, unless they have a medical exemption. Below is a full list of the Liberal Party’s candidates in British Columbia – every single one of which is fully vaccinated.

How many of Erin O’Toole’s Conservative candidates in British Columbia are unvaccinated?

  • Abbotsford: Navreen Gill
  • Burnaby North–Seymour: Terry Beech
  • Burnaby South: Brea Sami
  • Cariboo–Prince George: Garth Frizzell
  • Central Okanagan–Similkameen–Nicola: Sarah Eves
  • Chilliwack–Hope: Kelly Velonis
  • Cloverdale–Langley City: John Aldag
  • Coquitlam–Port Coquitlam: Ron McKinnon
  • Courtenay–Alberni: Susan Farlinger
  • Cowichan–Malahat–Langford: Blair Herbert
  • Delta: Carla Qualtrough
  • Esquimalt–Saanich–Sooke: Doug Kobayashi
  • Fleetwood–Port Kells: Ken Hardie
  • Kamloops–Thompson–Cariboo: Jesse McCormick
  • Kelowna–Lake Country: Tim Krupa
  • Kootenay–Columbia: Robin Goldsbury
  • Langley–Aldergrove: Kim Richter
  • Mission–Matsqui–Fraser Canyon: Geet Grewal
  • Nanaimo–Ladysmith: Michelle Corfield
  • New Westminster–Burnaby: Rozina Jaffer
  • North Island–Powell River: Jennifer Grenz
  • North Okanagan–Shuswap: Shelley Desautels
  • North Vancouver: Jonathan Wilkinson
  • Pitt Meadows–Maple Ridge: Ahmed Yousef
  • Port Moody–Coquitlam: Will Davis
  • Prince George–Peace River–Northern Rockies: Amir Alavi
  • Richmond Centre: Wilson Miao
  • Saanich–Gulf Islands: Sherri Moore-Arbour
  • Skeena–Bulkley Valley: Lakhwinder Jhaj
  • South Surrey–White Rock: Gordie Hogg
  • South Okanagan–West Kootenay: Ken Robertson
  • Steveston–Richmond East: Parm Bains
  • Surrey Centre: Randeep Sarai
  • Surrey–Newton: Sukh Dhaliwal
  • Vancouver Centre: Hedy Fry
  • Vancouver East: Josh Vander Vies
  • Vancouver Granville: Taleeb Noormohamed
  • Vancouver Kingsway: Virginia Bremner
  • Vancouver Quadra: Joyce Murray
  • Vancouver South: Harjit Sajjan
  • Victoria: Nikki Macdonald
  • West Vancouver–Sunshine Coast–Sea to Sky Country: Patrick Weiler
– 30 –

For more information, please contact:
613 627-2384